National Pension Commision

The National Pension Commission (PenCom) exists for the effective regulation and supervision
of the Nigerian Pension Industry to ensure that retirement benefits are paid as and when due

About PenCom

Prior to the enactment of the Pension Reform Act 2004, pension schemes in Nigeria had been bedevilled
by many problems. The Public Service operated an unfunded Defined Benefits Scheme and the payment of retirement benefits were budgeted annually. The annual budgetary allocation for pension was often one of the most vulnerable
items in budget implementation in the light of resource constraints. In many cases, even where budgetary provisions were made, inadequate and untimely release of funds resulted in delays and accumulation of arrears of payment of pension rights.

It was obvious therefore that the Defined Benefits Scheme could not be sustained.In the private sector on the other hand,
many employees were not covered by the pension schemes put in place by their employers and many of these schemes were not funded. Besides, where the schemes were funded, the management of the pension funds was full of
malpractices between the fund managers and the Trustees of the pension funds.This scenario necessitated a re-think of pension administration in Nigeria by the administration of President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Accordingly, the administration initiated a pension reform in order to address and eliminate the problems associated with pension schemes in the country. The outcome of the reform was the enactment into law of the Pension Reform Act 2004.

Structure of the commision
Channels for lodging compliants
RSA Holders can lodge their complaints directly to the Commission via these channels listed below:

Telephone -
0706 692 4512

Email address -

Telephone -
0706 692 4512

Social media -
Twitter: pencomnig
Instagram: @_pencom_

Walk-ins - Any office of the commision

Headquarters Address
Address: 174 Adetokunbo Ademola Crescent, Wuse 2, Abuja, Nigeria
Phone Number: 0700-CALLPENCOM (0700-225 -573-6266), +234 9460 3930.
  1. North-Central Zonal Office
    Address: Plot 1, Aderemi Adeleye Street, Off Fate Road, GRA Ilorin, Kwara State.
    Telephone: (+234) 8078859104, (+234) 8078859105.
  2. North-East Zonal Office
    Address: Plot No. 10, Gombe-Biu Road, Gombe, Gombe state.
    Telephone: (+234) 805 599 9339
  3. North-West Zonal Office
    Address: No. 22, Kazaure Road, Bompai, Kano, Kano State. Telephone: (+234) 805 599 9335
  4. South-West Zonal Office
    Address: 88A Oduduwa Crescent, Ikeja, GRA, Lagos State. Telephone: (+234) 8078859160
  5. South-East Zonal Office
    Address: Road 1/47, Udoka Housing Estate Awka, Anambra StateTelephone: (+234) 805 599 9337
  6. South-South Zonal Office
    Address: Plot 9, PCN Layout, Diamond Hill Calabar, Cross River StateTelephone: (+234) 805 599 9332